top of page

MILDRED + BOBBY | 53 Years

Mildred and Bobby Watson are my husband's paternal grandparents, and boy, do we adore them! Mildred and Bobby are known to us as Grandma and Pops. 😊 They reside in the Kansas City, Kansas area and although Grandma has come to Texas to visit us a handful of times this year in our new home this particular trip in October was Pop's first time visiting us. It's definitely hard to pull him away from running his Barber Shop, Milan For Hair, for too long. We're glad he was able to visit for a few days and thoroughly enjoyed having them here and getting to spend some quality time with the both of them.

Family Night at Cowtown Bowling was one of the highlights of their stay as our daughter, Sophia, was also able to get some time in with her GiGi (sorry for another name change) and Pops, sneak in pickles, and stay up late. We also had a nice little competition going on between Pops, my husband, and me. I can't seem to remember who won though. Ha.

On one of their last days in town my husband, Kevin, and I took Grandma and Pops to Twisted Root Burger in Roanoke to satisfy Grandma's burger craving. (Unfortunately, it was a school day, so Sophia was unable to be with us.) During lunch I asked how long they, Grandma and Pops, had been married. To my surprise Grandma mentioned that their 53rd Anniversary was coming up in the next month.

Ideas instantly popped into my head. I had my camera with me, downtown Roanoke was absolutely adorable, and BOOM; impromptu anniversary session. Although Pops was uncomfortable in front of the camera, his goofiness got Grandma laughing and we documented some of the sweetest moments. I didn't tell them what I was planning to do with the photos and did not show even one photo to them in advance. I wanted the images to be a complete surprise for them. As someone who's been on the other side of the camera, I know how easy it is to assume that there was no way even one good image came about because our child was unruly, my hair was sticking to my lipgloss, my husband doesn't like being photographed, etc. But, what I had was GOLD, and I was okay with them having some anticipation, for all good reasons of course.

I anxiously waited for their anniversary, November 26th, to approach. And, as it neared I sent off a package similar to what I would send off to my bride + groom clientele— a pine wood mahogany box keepsake, enclosed with a matching wooden flash drive and hand selected prints. The package arrived to them the morning of their anniversary and they were both shocked and thrilled to say the least. Grandma + Pops phoned us to give their heartfelt thanks and we wished them a very Happy Anniversary. Fifty-three years, you guys! I mean, wow! It deserves something great, right?!

I'm so happy to have had the opportunity to do this for Grandma + Pops, and I am glad they trusted me when I said, "I'm going to take some pictures of you guys after we finish eating."

Grandma + Pops, I loved being able to honor and document your marriage and love for each other. You've set the bar, and Kevin and I can't wait to be as cute and in love as you two, 53 years into our own marriage!

 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page